About Emily and Natalie

Hey!

We thought it would be fun if our first official-pre-launch blog post was about us. This way you are starting to know who are writing these posts. As we post, you’ll know more about our style, likes, and dislikes. As we approach our launch date (August 3- mark your calendars) we’ll be releasing introductions to the different types of posts we’ll be posting about. So stay tuned!

❤ E & N

The Basics

What program/major

E:  Interior Design. It’s the most intense thing I’ve done, it’s a love/hate relationship. I wouldn’t choose anything else though!

N: Liberal arts/pre law. Basically what this means is a lot of reading and no life. 

Nicknames:

E: In high school, there was another Emily so my nicknames are just short forms of my name like Em, or ET (My initials). Nothing special

N: My only nickname is in Chinese and means “peach” because Natalie kept getting shortened and eventually my family was left with “ta” or “toe” which in Chinese means “peach”. I guess Nat too, though it always sounded like a bug to me…

Famous Role Model:

E: I love Jillian Harris (designer on Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, Bachelorette S5). She is such a positive and bubbly person. I fell in love with her when she was on Bachelor s13 (gotta support a fellow designer). Not only is she a designer, but she’s Canadian which is a bonus. Plus one of my dream jobs is to be a designer on Extreme Makeover: Home Edition (or something similar), so this girl is living my dream life. 

N: I have lots of famous role models, a few in each category of my life (athletics, career, spirituality, politics, etc). And my role models are constantly changing and you’ll probably figure out who my current role model is based on my blog posts. 

Favourites

Favourite Designers:

E: Alessandro Munge and Sai Leung- they started a firm together in the best city ever, Toronto. 

N: Karl Lagerfeld (Chanel), Coco Chanel (Chanel), Alber Elbaz (Lanvin), Prabal Gurung (Prabal Gurugng), Chris Benz (Chris Benz), David Neville and Marcus Wainwright (Rag & Bone), Alice Temperley (Temperley London), Stacey Bendet (Alice and Olivia). The list goes on…

Favourite Artists:

E: Pierre-Auguste Renoir and Tara Donovan. 

N: I know it’s cliched, but I’ve always loved Leonardo da Vinci. It all started when I was 7 and I made my dad carry back a framed print of the Mona Lisa to Canada… even though this meant we had to carry it throughout Europe. 

Favourite Writers:

E: I really don’t read enough to claim a favourite writer. I really should read more. I’m working on it.

N: I really do have horrible taste in books. I read way too much chick lit and YA. I think you’ll start to figure out my reading tastes as the blog develops and as you read my book reviews.

Favourite Musician:

E: Eric Hutchinson is my go-to music for any mood. I am so in love with Jessie J right now. This girl has an amazing talent. Bruno Mars is also a music genius. 

N: Brandon Flowers/the Killers always put out great music no matter what. My Chemical Romance, Auggie March, Brendan James, Fleet Foxes, Manchester Orchestra, and Taylor Swift are also perpetual favourites. I can be fickle when it comes to music so my taste will change a lot.

Favourite Bloggers/Blogs:

E: The Cool Hunter is a great blog about design and culture. Design Buzz is another great one. 

N: Cupcakes and Cashmere‘s Emily is always inspirational for everyday style, Sea of Shoes‘ Jane Aldridge lives pretty much the most awesome blogger life in the world, Kim from Anthroholic styles Anthropologie in a way that I only wish I could pull off and the team behind Smitten Kitchen is responsible for making me really fat… but I love them anyways.

Favourite Food:

E: Ice Cream. Enough said. 

N: anything hearty and filled with carbs. See: Italian food

Favourite TV Show:

E: My all-time favourite is ‘Friends.’ I’ve seen all 10 seasons multiple times. Currently I love Big Bang Theory, Grey’s, Bones, Leverage, Private Practice, How I Met Your Mother, Modern Family, Glee, and many many more. I keep up with way too many TV shows.

N: If there’s anything Em and I have in common it’s the fact that we watch too much TV. I’ve seen every episode of Gilmore Girls and Firefly a million times. I also love Big Love and the Tudors. Also Castle, Cougar Town, Big Bang Theory, the Good Wife, Criminal Minds, and an embarrassing number of MTV reality shows.

Favourite Movie:

E: Death at a Funeral (British Version), Princess and The Frog, Remember The Titans

N: I don’t really have the attention span for movies which is why I watch so many TV shows. But I love anything with Reese Witherspoon in it, especially Legally Blonde and Election. Elle Woods and Tracy Flick are kinda my heroes.

Favourite Place to Shop:

E: H&M (despite the incredibly long line up) and Ikea

N: Anthropologie. Sometimes one word is all it takes… oops.

More About Us

My style best described as:

E: Simple, casual, touch of girly

N: My daily style is casual, simple and slightly yuppie-ish. If I had all the money in the world though I would be dressed like Blair Waldorf, Quinn Fabray, and a Disney starlet mixed together. Clean, structured lines and cuts in deep, rich colours.

Most important thing in my life:

E: I love my friends and family (as cheesy and cliche this may be)

N: My family is always the most important thing in my life. A proper ethical and moral compass is something I always look for in people as well. 

I can’t live without:

E: Other than friends and family- gadget wise, I can’t be without my phone or ipod

N: Other than my family, I couldn’t live without my iPod (music), the internet, a good book, good food, and TV.

Where do I look for inspiration:

E: Magazines and Blogs. Azure and Design Milk are good ones. 

N: for style inspiration I always turn to magazines or blogs. For beauty I turn to Youtube’s beauty guru community. For design I go to Emily… or an Ikea catalogue. Take that for what you will. 

In Toronto

Favourite neighbourhood

E: Distillery District. It’s a great place to walk around and look for inspiration. 

N: Yorkville. I could find my way around that area blind folded. Anything you could ever want can be found in that area: good shopping, good food, good people. What more do you really need?

Favourite event

E: I am going to cheat on this one. The Toronto International Design Festival is a week of events that is all about design in Toronto. There are many events and exhibits that occur during this week; Come Up To My Room at the Gladstone Hotel and the Interior Design Show are always a highlight. 

N: the “licious” events. Winterlicious especially. What can I say? I like food.  

Why we love it

E: This city is a great place to start anything. There are many great opportunities. And there is always something going on. I’m never bored in the city.

N: because anything is possible in Toronto. You can be whoever you want and you can explore any interest with the best and kindest people in the world. It’s really a small town in a big city. 

Why we chose to stay

E: The school I chose is one of the best and I could not imagine studying anything else. So why not learn from the best? Even though throughout high school I refused to go to a school in the city, my views have completely changed. I love living in the city. There is always something to do and living in the heart of Toronto makes everything to convenient.  

N: home is where the heart is and both my heart and home will always be in Toronto. 

Leave a Reply

Our Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

